Why Books Matter

Books. Yes. My absolute addiction. Reading a book engages the psyche in a way that no iPad, iPhone, or laptop can ever do. There is something sensual, something ecstatic, something very visceral about reading a good book that involves all of the senses. We need more odes to books. I can barely wait to read this one.

Live & Learn

books,read,reading,distraction,

I finished this book last night. I don’t recall another book packing such a punch at the finish.

“I felt myself enter Fitzgerald’s language, felt its lilt, its music, carry me away.”

Right book.
Right place.
Right time.

I’ve included the closing five paragraphs below. If you want to avoid a spoiler, stop here and go pick up David Ulin’s book:

David L. Ulin. The Lost Art of Reading: Why Books Matter in a Distracted Time. (Sasquatch Books. 2010)

View original post 1,178 more words

About Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.
This entry was posted in Books, Inspire, living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

