I feel a sudden clear focus and perspective

How sad it is that even those of us who know this to be so, refuse to act upon this way of living until it is so very very late. Why does it take such crisis to impel us to act on that which we know?
I’m so moved and so saddened by this. And yet I’m also re-inspired. And deeply grateful for his legacy and his courage.

Live & Learn

Oliver-Sachs-1

Oliver Sacks: My Own Life. Learning of Terminal Cancer

…It is up to me now to choose how to live out the months that remain to me. I have to live in the richest, deepest, most productive way I can…

…While I have enjoyed loving relationships and friendships and have no real enmities, I cannot say (nor would anyone who knows me say) that I am a man of mild dispositions. On the contrary, I am a man of vehement disposition, with violent enthusiasms, and extreme immoderation in all my passions.

I feel a sudden clear focus and perspective. There is no time for anything inessential. I must focus on myself, my work and my friends. I shall no longer look at “NewsHour” every night…

I have been increasingly conscious, for the last 10 years or so, of deaths among my contemporaries. My generation is on the way out, and…

View original post 168 more words

About Makere

A Maori/Scots New Zealander transplanted to Canada. Grandmother, academic, indigenous scholar, sometime singer, sometime activist, who cares passionately about our world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

